Seonhong Hwang, Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan in AFC U-23 Asian Cup qualifiers

The Olympic soccer team, led by head coach Hwang Seon-hong, will face off against Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan and Qatar in the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) U-23 Asian Cup qualifiers this September.

Hwang Seon-Hong-Ho was in Group B with three teams including Myanmar in the preliminary draw held at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on the 25th. All Group B qualifiers will be held in Korea, and the venue and time are undecided.메이저놀이터

43 teams are divided into 11 groups for the preliminaries. There were 4 teams in 10 groups from A to J, and 3 teams in group K. The top 4 teams in each group and the top 4 teams with the best results among the 2nd in 11 groups will advance to the AFC U-23 Asian Cup finals next year with Qatar, the host country of the finals. 

Qatar, which belongs to Group B with Korea, has been confirmed to advance to the finals as the host country. The results of this preliminary match are all considered friendly matches, so the result of the match against Qatar does not affect the ranking.

If you pass the qualifiers, you will compete in the 2024 AFC U-23 Asian Cup finals to be held in Qatar from April 15 to May 3 next year. Korea will challenge for the second championship in four years and in total since the 2020 Thailand tournament. In the last 2022 tournament, it lost to Japan 0-3 in the quarterfinals and was eliminated. 

The tournament also serves as the Asian qualifier for men’s football at the Paris Olympics to be held next year. The top three teams qualify directly for the Olympics, while the fourth-place team plays a play-off against the fourth-place African qualifier.

Meanwhile, North Korea is in Group I along with Australia, Tajikistan and Laos, while Japan will compete with Bahrain, Palestine and Pakistan to advance to the finals. China PR were drawn in Group G with UAE India and Maldives.

▲ 2024 AFC U-23 Asian Cup Preliminary Group Draw Result

– Group A: Jordan Syria Oman Brunei

– Group B: Korea Myanmar Kyrgyzstan Qatar

– Group C: Vietnam Singapore Yemen Guam – Group

D: Japan Bahrain Palestine Pakistan

– Group E: Uzbekistan Iran Hong Kong Afghanistan

– Group F: Iraq Kuwait East Timor Macau

– Group G: UAE India Maldives China

– Group H: Thailand Malaysia Bangladesh Philippines

– Group I: Australia Tajikistan Laos North Korea

– Group J: Saudi Arabia Cambodia Lebanon Mongolia

– Group K: Turkmenistan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *